Children’s Book Review: Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes by Eric Litwin

Today I have a really fun children’s book to tell you about! It is titled, “Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes.” Pete the Cat has become popular over the last few years. There are quite a few “Pete the Cat” books now. “Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes” is one of the best books in the series! This is a must have book for anyone with young children in their lives. It is a great “back to school” themed book told through a song. It’s best suited for children ages 4-8. Even toddlers and infants will enjoy rocking along to the song in this book!

Pete the Cat is a groovy sort of feline. He likes to wear shoes! The very first title in the Pete the Cat series was “Pete the Cat: I love My White Shoes.” (You should definitely check out my review of that book here!) In Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes, Pete is given new shoes to wear to school. As he goes throughout his day at school, readers are encouraged to guess which part of the school he is in. Then the answer is revealed on the next page. After that area is named, the story always says, “But did Pete worry? Goodness No!” Then the story goes into the song. For example, when he arrives in the library, the verse of the song goes: “I’m reading… in my school shoes! I’m reading… in my school shoes!” (You can download the song for free with a link provided with the book.)

Pete visits several places at school, and at the end of the day he gets on the bus and goes home. When he arrives back home, he’s greeted by his mom. She wants to know what he did at school. The book finishes up with more singing! He summarizes what he did all day in his school shoes. “I was adding…in my school shoes! I was painting… in my school shoes!” And so on.

This book keeps the attention of the children because it has a short amount of words on each page, and has the catchy song in it. Kids (and adults!) will have fun grooving and singing along. I like this book because it teaches children about school and what they will do there. It also touches on the fact that kids might be worried at school. This would be a great book to read with kids a few weeks before school starts, and during those first few weeks of school too. This book can be purchased in paper back or hard cover. The size of the book is 8.5 x .2 x 11 inches. It would be easy for kids ages 3 and up to hold this book in their own hands. If the child you are reading with is under 3 years old, I recommend holding the book during the reading.

Here are some questions you could ask after you read the book.

What did Pete do in the lunchroom?

Where can we find books at school?

Where can we run at school?

What do you think it means to be worried? What can you do if you feel worried at school?

What is your favorite thing to do at school and why?

You can purchase this book online or in most well known book stores, such as Barnes and Noble. Until next time, remember, our words and actions really do matter!

Keep rockin’!

Disclaimer: I was not paid to review this book.

Photo credit: Miss Sue

Published by Miss Sue

Early Childhood Teacher. Blogger. I love learning, life, and people. I am co-founder of the blog Miss Sue's Skills 4 Success!I l enjoy interacting with my followers, so please feel free to get in touch with me! The easiest way is to comment on the blog, or message me on the Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/MissSuesSkills4Success

2 thoughts on “Children’s Book Review: Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes by Eric Litwin

Leave a comment